Each legal input links to the government source reviewed for this page. Source text can change; confirm the current rule before acting.
StatuteReviewed source note: §44-1A-2. Administration of a small estate upon affidavit and without appointment. (a) Notwithstanding any provisions of this code to the contrary, the small estate of a decedent who dies domiciled in this state, without owning any probate real property or without owning any interest in probate real property, may be administered upon affidavit and without the appointment of a personal representative, and the small assets of the decedent may be paid or delivered to the authorized successor as provided in this article.
West Virginia Legislature · Edition/currentness: Publisher edition or amendment label not stated · Verified September 15, 2026
StatuteReviewed source note: §59-1-10. Fees to be charged by clerk of county commission. For the purpose of this section, the word "page" is defined as being a paper or electronic writing of not more than legal size, 8 1/2" x 14". (a) When a writing is admitted to the record, for receiving proof of acknowledgment of the writing, entering an order in connection with the writing, endorsing clerk's certificate of recordation on the writing and indexing in a proper index, the clerk of the county commission shall charge and collect the following fees: (1) Thirty dollars for a deed of conveyance (with or without a plat), trust deed, fixture filing, or security agreement concerning real estate lease. (2) Forty dollars for a trustee's report of sale for any property for which additional information and filing requirements are required by §38-1-8a of this code.
West Virginia Legislature · Edition/currentness: Publisher edition or amendment label not stated · Verified September 15, 2026
StatuteReviewed source note: §44-4-12a. Compensation and expenses of personal representatives. (a) Personal representatives, as defined in section one, article one, chapter forty-two of this code, shall be allowed any reasonable expenses incurred by the personal representative as such and commissions upon the amount of all the personal estate which is subject to administration, including the income from the personal estate, that is received and accounted for by them and upon the proceeds of real estate that is sold, as follows: (1) For the first $100,000, at the rate of five percent; (2) All above $100,000 and not exceeding $400,000, at the rate of four percent; (3) All above $400,000 and not exceeding $800,000, at the rate of three percent; and (4) All above $800,000, at the rate of two percent.
West Virginia Legislature · Edition/currentness: Publisher edition or amendment label not stated · Verified September 15, 2026
StatuteReviewed source note: §44-2-26. When claims not presented and proved barred of recovery from personal representative. Every person including the State Tax Commissioner, having a claim against a deceased person, whether due or not, who has not, after notice to creditors has been published as prescribed in this article, presented his claim on or before the time fixed in such notice, or before that time has not instituted a civil action or suit thereon, shall, notwithstanding the same be not barred by some other statute of limitations that is applicable thereto, be barred from recovering such claim of or from the personal representative, or from thereafter setting off the same against the personal representative in any action or suit whatever; except that if a surplus remain after providing for all claims presented in due time, or on which action or suit shall have been commenced in due time, and such surplus
West Virginia Legislature · Edition/currentness: Publisher edition or amendment label not stated · Verified September 15, 2026
StatuteReviewed source note: The date of first publication; (7) A statement that claims against the estate must be filed within sixty days of the date of first publication in accordance with article two or article three-a of this chapter
West Virginia Legislature · Edition/currentness: Publisher edition or amendment label not stated · Verified September 15, 2026